4 Young composers, 2 women, 2 men

Top row left to right: Áine Mallon, Cameron Biles-Liddell. Bottom row left to right: Jamie Powe, Crystalla Serghiou.

Áine Mallon

Áine Mallon is an award winning Irish composer. Her music engages with the fundamental human experience of storytelling and has been described as “Traditional yet fresh and new” (- John Rutter CBE). Áine is an associate composer with the Contemporary Music Centre Ireland, and has works commissioned and performed across the UK and Ireland; with recent commissions from world class ensembles such as Chamber Choir Ireland, the Fidelio Trio, the ORA Singers (commissioned by Britten Pears Arts).

So looking forward to working with you! I'm totally over the moon to be awarded this incredible opportunity.

Crystalla Serghiou

Crystalla is a multi-genre Composer, Singer, Pianist and Conductor. Her vibrant, crossgenre approach shapes her musical identity, with influences ranging from her Greek/Cypriot heritage, classical, contemporary, pop, jazz and theatre. Crystalla has a Masters in Composition from London’s Royal Academy of Music and has composed for the BBC SSO, London Philharmonic Orchestra, Britten Sinfonia, Psappha, Riot Ensemble, CHROMA and RSNO’s Chorus. She composed, conducted and adjudicated for the Florence International Choral Festival 2023 and has received nominations for a short film, including ‘Best Composition,’ for Glasgow Film Festival, British Short Film Awards and Norwich Film Festival 2021. Crystalla is currently writing a multi-genre ‘popera’ called ‘Chronicles of Millennial Dating,’ and has an upcoming premiere of her work ‘Concerto for Jazz, Scat Singer’ with the Britten Sinfonia in March 2024

As a singer myself, I am always creating new works through vocal improvisation. The voice fascinates me and I can't think of a more fitting collaboration for me as an artist! Thank you, National Youth Choir!

Cameron Biles-Liddell

Cameron Biles-Liddell is a sought-after Welsh composer and community practitioner, based in North Wales. His music is fascinated with sparkling textures and bright harmonies, where he takes inspiration from landscapes and local Welsh folklore. Cameron has been nominated for several prestigious prizes, with the most notable being the Michael Tippett Medal, as well as winning the Paul Mealor Prize. Since then, Cameron has received performances at Cheltenham and Spitalfields Music Festivals, as well as gaining premieres from the BBC National Orchestra of Wales, where he is their North-Wales Associate. 

I am absolutely delighted to be one of the four composers taking part in the National Youth Choir’s Young Composers Programme.  As an emerging composer who is finding their way in this ever-evolving industry, it is a dream come true to work with the National Youth Choir over the course of the year, whilst creating wonderful choral music. I can't wait to get stuck in!

Jamie Powe

Jamie is a composer and conductor based in London. He studied composition as part of a BA in Music at Oxford, before continuing at RAM alongside a choral conducting MA. He has a particular focus on vocal writing, and his latest commission, The Gun Mass, was recently premiered in both the UK and US, as well as being exhibited at St Andrew’s University.

As a conductor, he directs The Fourth Choir, The New London Singers, Aubrey Singers, Putney Choral Society and Laurelin Voices.

Supporters of Young Composers 2024

The 2024 Young Composers scheme is supported using public funding by the National Lottery through Arts Council England. We are most grateful to the following for their kind grant support, partnership and advocacy: Stainer & Bell, Steinberg Media Technologies, ABRSM, Britten Pears Arts, The D'Oyly Carte Charitable Trust, PRS for Music Foundation and Vaughan Williams Foundation

ACE Lottery Logo NMC Recordings logoProgramme Digital Partner Britten Pears Arts Logo
Stainer and Bell logoPublishing Partner & Innovation Grant Sponsor The D'Oyly Carte Charitable Trust Logo Dorico LogoSteinberg Media Technologies - Principal Innovation Sponsor
PRS Music logo ABRSM logo Vaughan Williams Foundation logo