Montage of headshots of 8 young people

We are delighted to announce the eight emerging musicians selected for our 2024 Young Composers and Fellowship programmes. The schemes each offer a fully funded, year-long programme of professional development opportunities to emerging professionals from a diverse range of backgrounds and musical genres.

The National Youth Choir welcomes the following British-based emerging composers: Áine Mallon originally from Ireland, Crystalla Serghiou originally from Cyprus, Cameron Biles-Liddell from North Wales, and Jamie Powe from London; and Fellows Imogen Moore from Somerset, Olivia Earl from Kent, Adam Hilton originally from Wrocław in Poland, and Daniel Rodriguez-Tijaro originally from Colombia.

The Fellowship programme for emerging choral leaders aged 20-27 focusses on four key areas of career, education, performance and leadership. It offers opportunities to develop ambitious and creative young musicians who want to become part of the professional choral network, as well as help to re-shape it.

Fellows have the opportunity to develop a portfolio of professional opportunities and skills including observing, training and working with National Youth Choir staff and young members and being involved with the Learning & Engagement programme at locations across the UK. They will also take part in a busy programme of professional recordings and concerts at high profile venues and festivals. 

Now in its sixth year, the Young Composers Scheme champions the development, innovation and diversity of new choral music. Emerging composers aged 18-29 benefit from a range of residential courses, creative retreats, workshops, peer and professional mentoring and performance showcases along with expert advice and tuition from distinguished composers. It also provides the unique opportunity to write music to be sung by the National Youth Choir.

Professional training and insights, and a professional recording and release for their work will be facilitated by Digital Partner NMC Recordings. Free licenses and training in Dorico Pro notation software are provided by Principal Innovation Sponsor Steinberg Media Technologies, and they will also receive unique opportunities provided by Innovation Partner Stainer & Bell.

Previous high profile guest mentors and workshop leaders across the schemes have included composers and musicians including Jacob Collier, Dame Sarah Connolly, Errollyn Wallen, John Rutter, Roxanna Panufnik and The Swingles. 

Find out about 2024 Fellows

Find out about 2024 Young Composers

The 2024 Young Composers scheme is supported using public funding by the National Lottery through Arts Council England. We are most grateful to the following for their kind grant support, partnership and advocacy: Stainer & Bell, Steinberg Media Technologies, ABRSM, Britten Pears Arts, The D'Oyly Carte Charitable Trust, PRS for Music Foundation and Vaughan Williams Foundation. 

The 2024 Fellowship is supported using public funding by the National Lottery through Arts Council England. We are most grateful to the following for their kind grant support, partnership and advocacy: Steinberg Media Technologies, The D'Oyly Carte Charitable Trust, Ofenheim Trust, Making Music and AOTOS (Association of Teachers of Singing).